News Sports Opinion Photos Social Classified Obits Contact
 
 
 

Opinions...

Comments to the Tallassee Times

 

County Line (1-31-12)

The campaign signs are a necessary tool of the candidates, however the placement of the signs is a direct reflection of the attitude of the candidates themselves.  When signs are placed on public rights of way, nailed to TREES or power poles, or placed on private property without permission, this shows a lack of respect for the community and its citizens.  A candidate sometimes cannot control the placement when someone ask for a sign, however I feel we should police our campaigns as best we can.  Please notify any candidate (especially me) if you see one of their signs where it shouldn't be, AND PLEASE TAKE NOTE IF THERE IS NO RESPONSE!!!
Thank You - Jay Fomby


Local business sells historic gin equipment (1-31-12)

Mr. Laney, my dad, built the gin during the spring and summer of 1966. The Grand Opening was in August of '66. It was the only one of its kind east of the Mississippi.It had the lastest technology available. There were many visitors including Lummus (gin company) executives.
I remember going to town to a hardware store for red paint. It took five trips to get the exact color that the Lummus people wanted. And, yes, there were several harware stores in downtown Tallassee - Margaret Laney Parham


Follies (1-31-12)

Did not see anything about the wonderful production last week end at Tallassee High "THE FOLLIES" with production manager Pat Merritt on The Tallassee Times.  It was great in every way.  This support for the school music department is such a great idea and is enjoyed every year. EVERYONE needs to support it!  You can't find that kind of entertainment just anywhere. THANKS to all those who participated. The laughs were just wonderful and good for the soul!   See you at the FOLLIES next year! - Someone who loves THE FOLLIES in TALLASSEE, AL


As I Age I Change (1-31-12)

You are progressing well, Michael!
KOKO(Keep on keeping on!)
- Ray Hall


Agenda 21 (1-31-12)

Many of us in Tallassee like our small town atmosphere, and do not appreciate people that do not live here coming in from elswhere to instruct us on how we should improve our town, according to their ideas. Tallassee does need some imporvements; however, the people of Tallassee should make these decisioons themselves, and not some outside committee not selected by the citizens of Tallassee. Outside input is sometimes a welcome thing, but not when it comes from a dictatorial, egotistical point of view.

I moved to Tallassee 38 years ago to get away from towns like Montgomery, Mobile, B'ham and Auburn. We do not need the same problems they have, such as the ridiculous zoning ordinances that have been imposed on Tallassee's citizens, and 16 books of International Building Codes. The Republican National Committee has adopted a resolution for the National Republican Platform against Agenda 21, and Sustainable Developement. Central planning, re-zoning, restrictive ordinances, and regional planning commissions are all fostered by the proponents of Agenda 21, and in most cases our tax money is used to pay for these planning consultants fees. If anyone out there does not believe it, just Google Agenda,21, sustainable development, or property rights, and learn for yourself, what is happening in small towns, and counties all across our country.
 
Marion F. Patrick
Lower River Road
Tallassee

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I see nothing wrong about locating a good business on the edge or if you like the beginning of the Jordanville part of town. The location happens to be in a place of town notorious for drugs and general outlawness in the past, it will only help and not hurt this part of town. Why would anyone complain about that? A perfect location.

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

What is historical about an area that has gas stations on either end of the blocks and also has a halfway house on the same street?

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I think it is a wonderful idea.  Everybody loves chicken.  This will bring jobs and a real place to eat in Tallassee (only if is not fast food).  We have been asking for places such as this and for some reason they are trying to shut it down before it even gets started - Tallassee Citizen

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

The traffic is so bad in that area, already, I can't see how the people on that street stand it.This would only add to the congestion - Bernella Weldon

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

My family owns a home on Jordan Avenue.  We hope that Louie's Chicken Fingers comes to Tallassee, but I strongly protest rezoning that property. 

There are a number of commercial buildings and properties currently available for a new restaurant.  Why re-zone to build in such a poor location for a restaurant?  I have problems getting in and out of my driveway, especially with school traffic and near factory shift changes.  That intersection is a school crossing. A commercial business on that corner, at a school crosswalk, would be a traffic nightmare. 

To the comment George McCain made about 'How would you like it if a restaurant was next to your house?'   Really, Mayor McCain?  That's not a tough question.  The answer is a resounding, "NO!”  You have heard nothing else about it because the reality is, once the property is rezoned and the restaurant is built, you don't have a choice but to deal with it.

And, Mr. Mosher, we welcome the opportunity to start rebuilding Jordanville with a new residence.  We want a sit-down family restaurant, but in another location.  Mr. Cannon said, “When I build a restaurant, I build it like a house - to be the best in town."  I want to make our residential stretch “look better” with a house on that beautiful lot. 

We are thrilled to have new businesses come to Tallassee.  Excited that Mr. Griggs 1020 Cafe will open soon to bring new life to a half empty strip mall, so pleased that Dollar General has demolished an old commercial building to bring us a new store! We want businesses to do well in Tallassee, and my family will be proud to support them.

Mr. Cannon, we want your restaurant in Tallassee. I can’t wait to eat there with my family, after it has been built on a property that is already zoned for that.  Please consider other locations - Kimeran Keahey

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Shouldn't we address the history of businesses and restaurants in Tallassee?  Without a doubt, we would all LOVE to have a wonderful local restaurant.  Can we say with 100% certainty that it will be there for years to come?  What will happen to that area of town if, for whatever reason, Louie's Chicken Fingers doesn't succeed?  We have a number of empty buildings and available commercial lots.  What about one of those? - Tallassee Citizen

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Before the restaurant locates on the corner of Jordan and James they must consider the traffic.  Assuming it is re-zoned and assuming it is successful, to reap the dollars that are being projected would require a large number of cars going in and out of the parking lot.  How can that corner accomodate that?

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Jordan Avenue is a two-lane street.  Gilmer Avenue is four-laned with plenty of places to locate a restaurant, whether it is "sit down" or "fast food"...Or what about Downtown?

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

How will the city address traffic there?  I get caught up in a sting of cars well past Southside all the time and it doesn't break up until you get well past the traffic light.

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

A place in town notorious for "drugs and general outlawness" needs to be addressed by our Department of Public Safety.  A business locating in that tight spot doesn't help with the overall problem.  "Drugs and general outlawness" will just move to another corner.  Solve the problem; don't camouflage it!!!!

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

No one is trying to shut down the chicken place from locating in Tallassee.  There are plenty of places that are already zoned "General Business" which are NOT residential.  The corner of Jordan and West James is NOT a good idea

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Aside from the traffic issues on Jordan Avenue and the safety of our children, there are other issues with locating a "restaurant" on Jordan Avenue.
Encroaching on neighborhoods drives businesses off as well as discourages potential newcomers to want to locate here.  This town must be able to recognize that neighborhoods are as important as businesses.  We can protect our neighborhoods, our integrity, our identity, and still bring in business - Elizabeth W. Britt

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I LIVE ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE SITE MENTIONED AND I WOULD NOT LIKE TO PUT UP WITH THE FLASH OF HEAD LIGHTS ACROSS MY LIVING AND BEDROOM EVERY TIME A CAR LEAVES THERE.!!! I MOVED HERE FROM COLORADO AND CHOSE TALLASSEE AND MY 100 YEAR HOME ON PURPOSE. THE QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD ,  THE FRIENDLY PEOPLE.
SINCE I MOVED HERE THE TRAFFIC HAD DOUBLED, AND THE ' THUMPERS ' ARE ENOUGH NOISE. AT LEAST WHEN RUSH HOUR IS OVER WE GO BACK TO PEACE AND QUIET. ANY BUSINESS THERE WOULD  MAKE THE NOISE BE ALL THE TIME..
LEAVE OUR NEIGHBORHOOD  ALONE...!!!!!!.
WHAT'S NEXT....A FOUR LANE - SANDEE RICHARDSON

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

On December 2011, we purchased our home at 104 Jordan Avenue. We were excited and welcomed to the community by several of the families in this area.  As a home owner we thought this was just what we were looking for a friendly neighborhood, where each house was different and had a story to tell. That was all destroyed when we were advised of the attempt to re-zone 102 Jordan Avenue to business. This just happens to be next door. You could only imagine how devastated we were to think that the charm and character that brought us to this neighborhood would be destroyed.  It is utterly appalling to find that the lot right next door was being considered. We do not need to destroy the Historical District with a business right smack in the middle. We need to consider the charm that this neighborhood offers and maintain it; as so many of us is currently doing.

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Tallassee needs this type of restaurant.  The picture posted is misleading and not representative of the proposed building for this property.  Most of the traffic would occur after school is out thus crossing for children should not be an issue.  There are only five or six older homes and an upscale business should not devalue those properties. It would be a welcome change for persons coming into Tallassee to find a nice restaurant after seeing Jordanville.
Rezoning R-1 & GB - with a service station at five points and the old Jolly grocery, Eva's beauty shop and Ingram bus station, etc. - seem it could be both
and maybe once was or before zoining. The revenue for Tallassee should be a major consideration. Tallassee is losing good businesses to Prattville and this should not continue to happen - Edwina (Rusty) Dunn

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

After visiting this town and trying to find a decent place to eat I must say this is a much needed business. Not only will it benefit the towns people for a nice place to eat it will provide much needed jobs and revenue for the city. This is a five star addition for the city - TC Clayton

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

In reference to the recent comment about Tallassee losing business to Prattville...if Mr. Cannon wanted to take his chicken finger restaurant to Prattville, he'd be required to locate the business in a properly zoned area, because the Prattville Zoning Board is not going to let him "spotzone" into one of their residential neighborhoods. He probably wouldn't even attempt it in Prattville. Apparently, he's been led to believe this is an acceptable practice in Tallassee.
 
I wish Mr. Cannon would look into utilizing the vacant CVS building on Gilmer for a restaurant. I believe it's about the right size, the parking area is already in place, and a drive-up window could be added to the side of the building facing the recreation center and football stadium. 
 
I've heard Mr. Cannon is also interested in building a shopping center strip. If possible, he could utilize the empty Piggly Wiggly store space adjoining the former CVS store space, for that purpose. He could improve the building facades and add landscaping, similar to what Mr. Griggs is doing with the old building he bought on Gilmer, and bring life back to that almost barren shopping center located on a fantastic commercial site on the four-lane - Linda Coppinger

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Developers must apply and be granted a permit to connect to a state highway.  Engineering/traffic patterns/access management/traffic flow, etc., have to be resolved.  Jordan Avenue and Alabama Highway 229 are the same on this strip of roadway.  I note that Mr. Cannon says that "ingress and egress" will be located on West James Street.  Apparently the state does not have to be involved when "ingress and egress" are onto a city street.  Is this a way to circumvent the issues with the state?  How will "ingress and egress" onto West James Street alleviate traffic issues?  One still will have to enter Jordan Avenue to go left or right.  Has Mr. Cannon advised the State of his plans and resolved these issues or does our local government initiate the studies - Eddie Frank Britt

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I think if the neighborhood residents show up at the meeting in mass you can stop this from happening.  It is also my opinion that if you are going to do any "spot zoning" ,as Mrs Coppinger called it, the residents of that neighborhood should be the only voices heard.

By the way Mrs Coppinger, I like the term spotzoning, Tallassee has a habit of trying to do that.  The only problem with your plan is that it just makes too much good sence, the city planners will never fall for that.

Mr Britt, you are getting too close to the truth, and that is dangerous.  The mayor may sic his boys on you !!  :)

I would love to see this restaurant come to Tallassee , I just think that the overwhelming majority of the residents it would affect most do not want it in thier neighborhood, and that Mr Cannon should respect that and find an alternative location - D J Elmore

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I grew up in Tallassee and am so very grateful for my "smalltown upbringing."  I feel that the restaurant would be a very welcome addition to Tallassee in a different location.  As a restaurant owner in Asheville, NC, I understand the business idea of targeting and taking advantage of: 1)the high school students 2)the Sunday church crowd 3)the hub of traffic at 5 points, however, it would be a definite detriment to the  residential area that the current homeowners have worked so hard to create, maintain and preserve.  If zoning is approved, the highly utilized two-lane Jordan Ave will be even more congested, but even more significantly, the business will suffer from lack of resident draw (by experience I know that EVERY business must be able to count on local support to succeed).  The restaurant will create more good will by locating in a business-friendly location, which Tallassee and Jordanville residents will frequent on a continual basis - Amy Harris Wilkes

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Dear Mr. Cannon,

Thank's for showing interest in our city. I also understand that LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION are the magic words, when thinking about opening a business. I have been living in Tallassee, most of my life and although I like the small town feel, I would love to see a nice restaurant like the one you are talking about come to town. I am kind of surprised by some of the feed back from the residents, but I do not live in that part of town and I do respect their feelings. I have not seen this great traffic problem that everyone is talking about, except maybe from 3-4 p.m on weekdays when GKN,Neptune and the school is letting out, but that is only one hour a day. If this location does not work out, PLEASE do not give up on Tallassee, We would love to have you - tallassee citizen

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I can understand the Mosher's wanting to have their property sold however that is but one part of the issue that isn't right for Tallassee. 1) To place a chicken finger "restaurant" in that location and not having a say over the materials or what it is designed like, due to not having a architecture review board, is plain wrong. 2)  The current trend here in Tallassee is let it go up no matter what the cost is visually or of traffic impact ...I can see cars stacking back on Gilmer through the light just to get some fried yard bird tenderloins. 3) The encroachment into the neighborhood there is blatantly wrong due to the nature of the building in relation to the structures in that neighborhood. Of the many MANY locations on Gilmer and over in Carrville I find it very difficult to believe this is the best site. Being from the area MR CANNON should be aware that this is not right for this location. To build what is in AUBURN at the Publix shopping center is not and WILL NOT be appropriate for Tallassee in that location. The anywhere-USA design found there will not work as a good neighbor to the neighborhood that is here.

The planning/zoning board need to go back to school if they allow this. The urban planers will tell you its not right...burn some gas and go talk to them over at Auburn University's Urban Planning in the Architecture building....Dudley hall if you wonder what the name of the building is...Or call up Cheryl Morgan at the Urban Studio in Birmingham she has extensive expertise in this focusing on small towns. 


on a passing note...The International Building Code is the code in which buildings are constructed. Insurance of your building be it a home or business is based on this code like it or not. The southern building code only exists in litigation now. The international building code is not perfect but it is the "rule book" don't follow it and you aren't insured. This is not a code that is stripping your rights it is to ensure better construction as well as the safety and well fare of the public - Chris Humphries

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

Question?? Where did the building codes issue come from?? - D J Elmore

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I am amazed at the negative comments about the new restaurant wanting to locate in the Jordanville area.  I cannot believe that residence would prefer the run down neighborhood as opposed to a nice landscaped building.  I know that things change but I doubt they have changed that much since the neighborhood watch disbanded several years ago.  This area used to be a high drug traffic area.  As for lights in the window, what is the difference in lights from those cars and lights from those from the restaurant?  There would not be a lot of traffic at the restaurant during school traffic and shift change hours at the local factories.  There is not a lot of foot traffic from school students coming from the high school. Most of it is going to Southside.  I hope that those who have the final say will see reason and vote to improve things for all of Tallassee.  There is not a single family restaurant where a family can go in and sit down and eat a decent meal and be able to sit together.  We wanted to go out after the follies on Sat. night and the place we wanted to go locked their doors at 9pm and the other places did not have a place where a big family could sit together and eat.  Unless you are a fan of Mexican food you are out of luck in our great city.  This is just my opinion and doesn't count for much but I felt I needed to have my say.

I am a  life long citizen of Tallassee who would love to see this take place! - Beth Dunn

__________

Restaurant plan to be reviewed (1-31-12)

I am so glad Tallassee has a large group of CAVE people.  That's Citizens Against Virtually Everything !!!!!!!Talk about being stuck in the mud and closed minded.
How can this town become a better place to live and work with some change?  Not everyone is satisfied with the 1960 mentality of small town.  I welcome some positive additions to town


Stanley Lacey (1-31-12)

As an alumni of Tallassee High School and former trombone player of the Tallassee Band, congratulations on that great accomplishment! I am glad to see you are seeking a career in music performance and education. I have been involved with teaching music to young people for 30 years and have never regretted it. Congratulations again - Don Evans


Gabe Livingston (1-24-12)

think this was the most precious article and something that was great of the Tallassee Times to publish.I grew of with Gabes mother and we have been friends for many years and I feel for her and her family,my heart and prayers go out to them.God Bless All! - Tammy Wood


Tallassee Wrestling (1-24-12)

Do the accomplishments of Tallassee's Varsity and Junior Varsity Wrestling teams not get reported by coaches and staff?  I have noticed that very few articles have been published talking about results and stats.  Seems like something that could fill the sports page in a slow time of the year.


Knapp on Dean's List (1-24-12)

Way to go D.  So proud of you! - Anita stringfellow


Bright House/WNCF (1-24-12)

Hello Tallassee, Well they, Brighthouse Networks, has done it again. Channel 32 WNCF-HDTV our ABC affiliate and a few other HD channels have been moved again on the Brighthouse cable TV line-up. For the past several months Channel 32HD has been at 32-1 on my TV. Then last week it disapeared. So tonight I reprogrammed my TV and it is now at 22-1. I dont mind an occasional change in channel line-up, but when they do, I would appreciate a little notice of the change so I don't miss my favorite programs. A simple note that channels are changing placed in with the bill I receive each month would be great. It takes about a half hour of my time to re-program my TV for this change. This is only affecting the HDTV channels. I presently receive 65 analog and 17 HDTV (digital) channels. I hope none of our citizens are having to pay a service man to come out and re-program their TV's every time these changes take place. So how about it Brighthouse Networks?, leave the channels as they are, if it ain't broke don't fix it - Tom Arledge, Bent Oak Lane

__________

Bright House/WNCF (1-24-12)

Mr. Arledge,

In response to your complaint of WNCF and Bright House Networks,I have provided an explanation for you below. I hope this will clarify the issue for you.

We haven’t moved any channels however we had to switch which over the air broadcast signal that we receive from WNCF(ABC)/WBMM(CW). This affected two channels. WNCF & WBMM. WNCF(ABC)/WBMM(CW) broadcasts on two channels that can be picked up by an antenna. They broadcast on channel 32 with WNCF(ABC) as the first stream and WBMM(CW) as the second stream. They also broadcast on channel 22 with WBMM(CW) as the first stream and WNCF(ABC) as the second stream. We normally pick up the channel 22 over the air signal because the channel 32 signal receives interference from channel 32 WFSU in Florida which knocks the WNCF/WBMM channel 32 signal off the air in our location. Back on November 16th, 2011 a storm knocked out the channel 22 transmitter which knocked out WNCF(ABC)/WBMM(CW) for our customers and the station said that it could be down for several days. We swapped over to the channel 32 signal. On January 19th, 2012 the signal from channel 32 WFSU in Florida was causing interference again and knocked off WNCF(ABC)/WBMM(CW). We swapped back over to the channel 22 over the air signal so that we could restore service. It is unfortunate that customers with a clear QAM TV have to rescan to pick up WNCF & WBMM after the switch but it is very fortunate that we were able to swap between the two feeds as this kept the signals on the system - Toby Ward (Bright House Networks)


Dr. Varner (1-24-12)

I wanted to take a moment to express an opinion on the hiring of Dr. Kenneth Varner as superintendent of the Tallassee School system. The school board is to be commended for an excellent choice. I know firsthand the dedication and care Dr. Varner brings to the job every day. Several years ago my son Price Sparks was a student at Southside Middle School. At the age of 5 he was diagnosed with Tourette's Syndrome and ADHD. Most of his elementary and middle school years were very frustrating for him as well as for my wife and I as his parents and for the teachers and administrators who had to deal with a very hyperactive student with the added special needs caused by Tourette's. Dr. Varner took a special interest in Price and educated himself on how to best deal with a student with great potential, but with serious learning inhibiting behaviors. The care and concern Dr. Varner showed toward my son enabled him to learn and excel despite the disabilities. Today Price is a freshman at Jacksonville State University on a full academic honors scholarship. No small part of his success is due to the encouragement and care shown by Dr. Varner. If he brings that same dedication to the school system as a whole, the children of Tallassee can count on having an advocate for their success as superintendent. Parents can rest assured that Dr. Varner will do the utmost to enable their children to reach their highest potential. Again, I commend the school board for a wise, capable and excellent choice - John Sparks

__________

Dr. Varner (1-24-12)

You go Ken !! Tallassee will not regret this.

__________

Dr. Varner (1-24-12)

Congrats to Dr. Varner. I think the Board made a great choice. Dr. Varner has always taken in considerations ALL students, parents and other educational entities concerns, regardless of their race, creed or financial background. Im sure, at least I hope, he will do a great job as Superintendent.

Again, Congrats and God Bless to Dr. Varner - Regina Crapps


Football (1-17-12)

What do yall think about taylor marshall going to the next stage to play D-1 I think he could b a big help for any school that need a great linebacker or fullback cause what i seen from him playing taylor is outstanding player in every sport that he is playing if have not seen him come out and see for yourself


The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Open to letter to Ray Hall

subject : Anti Muslim hate video
 
Dear Ray

I am beginning to think that your hatred of the Muslims is greater than my will to resist you.
But because of my Christian beliefs I do feel the need to continue to fight your propaganda with truth. 
 
The video you have passed around showing Muslim women being stoned and mutilated was all filmed in other countries . 
We , as Christians and Americans , cannot control how other countries treat their people without going to war with them . 
Countries such as Iran torture and kill in the name of Allah , North Korea tortures and kill in the name of their dictator .     
 
We do , however , control what happens in our country . In your video it says a man who kept a sex slave in America , in the name of religion got 27 years to life for his crime .
 
If a Muslim comes to live in the USA , then he must live by our law just like a Christian , Jew , or any other religion . This is true in France , England or any other country your propaganda claims that is being taken over by Muslims.
 
As I have said so many times before , I cannot , understand how you are able to claim Jesus Christ as you personal saviour , yet pass around hate mail . Your hatred can cause harm to your neighbors who are of Mid-East descent . Your Bible is crystal clear when it says "Love your neighbor"
Our Lord didn't put in and criteria on that Love , so your words hold no water . You must practice what you preach , or risk losing salvation.
 
Take a lesson from the Largest Christian Church in the world . Catholics do not see the Muslims as a threat , but do try to convert them by quiet examples of Love - Glenn Dean

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Open to letter to Glenn Dean

Judge ye not for ye are a fool! - D J Elmore

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Open response to Glenn Dean

Subject: Anti Cruelty of Islam to Women Video
 
Dear Glenn
 
I am beginning to think that you warp other people’s words, deliberately modifying their meanings to create a comfort cocoon for yourself as you attempt to appease a la Neville Chamberlin and grovel a la Obama. The video, as you well know, exposed the cruelty of Sharia law to women. No Muslim hatred was advocated!

It just may be that your Christian beliefs are based on a knowledge of the Bible that is right on par with your knowledge of the Qu’ran. I know that until recently, the Roman Catholic church did not encourage a “read it for yourself” approach to Bible study. And as you acknowledge below, the video was not propaganda, but actual video of the atrocities they inflict upon their women!

War with them was not proposed! But if the United Nations has a Human Rights Commission, where is the outrage on their part toward this bestial brutality? The beginning of an end of cruelty is its exposure and condemnation! The Holocaust and the Rape of Nanking happened in other countries, but were rightly condemned finally, and for many, too late!

How many Frenchmen or Englishmen have you contacted in order to refute or confirm the claim?
 
Do you think we are demonstrating the love of our Lord by refusing to speak up and expose such hideous inhumanity toward other human beings? A lot of Europeans refused to speak up about the extermination of the Jew, including the Roman Catholic Church and its pope at the time. Where was the love of their neighbor?

Large does not automatically make you right, Glenn, and you know that! Muslims are not the threat! But the life style and value system that they advocate based on the directives they derive from the Qu’ran are a threat to our very way of life. Many Muslims are coming to know and have a relationship with Jesus Christ. But the ones who remain in the stone age of cruelty to each other need a condemnation of their life style, not an ignoring of it!

And one other observation! From the time the emperor Constantine Romanized the church until Martin Luther protested this Romanization, the Dark Ages were upon us. I am very grateful to Martin for exposing this 1000 years of malpractice of Christianity and allowing the light to once again illuminate His precious Word. “In order for evil to prevail, it is only necessary for good people to do nothing!”
 
Ray Hall
God loves the Muslims, you and me!
I love God, you, and the Muslims!
God hates the sin of all of us!

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

"appease a la Neville Chamberlin and grovel a la Obama "?  You are getting about as cute as DJ with your witty little sayings !

Remember , President Obama has put more of a hurt on the Terrorist  than Bush ever dreamed possible !
 
 I have never denied that the cruelty is not there , it is . However the cruelty is all over the world . N. Korea , some of the African countries , ethnic cleansing in the Balkans , it is everywhere , yet you hone in on one place, one religion. 
Islam is like Christianity , it has been twisted by some , to mean killing and  hating is okay , if done in the name of Jesus or Allah. 
 
In our own country , little more than 200 years ago , a woman was flogged and/or hung for adultery . We grew wiser and moved away from mixing religion and government.  Perhaps the Mid-East countries will also figure out that the separation of Church and State is the best policy .  It might take them 200 more years to get to where we are. Meanwhile there isn't much we can do. 
 
You can pass around your hate mail , but are NOT changing anything in Iran . All you are doing doing is fanning the flames of hate in OUR country. You are making it more difficult on the Muslims who have come to our country seeking a better way of life . You are showing them that Christians are no better than the oppressors they left behind.  

I used the Catholic Church as an example that if a world-wide Church isn't concerned about the Muslims , why should a small , southeastern protestant church ?

You enjoy the word ' Dark Ages' it doesn't just refer to the church , but to all of the known world at the time. A time when the English were sleeping on hay and bathing once a year.

Yes , there has been corruption in the church , power corrupts human beings . Martin Luther did have a hand in turning things around , but to say a 1,000 years of corruption is going way to far.

The Catholic Church started with Jesus and is built upon St. Peter , it has had some problems thru 2,000 years but it is still the final word when it comes to Christianity , The Church has been and will always be guided by Jesus , this He promised us. Protestant Churches spring up and die off , none coming no where near the staying power of the Church . 
 
As far as knowing the Quran , you and I BOTH have admitted we know very little about it ! All of a sudden you are an expert ?

As far as the Bible , I was issued a REAL Bible in elementary school over 55 years ago ( not a condensed version)  . Every year of my education we were taught by the Nuns from this Bible in both a religious and historical aspect. 

In comparsion my wife attended Baptist schools all her life , She was taught to memorize Bible verses.  

While I can explain (thanks to the Nuns) the meaning behind a verse , She can rattle it off from memory but doesn't understand what it means.

As usual , Ray , when a Protestant speaks of the Catholic Church , He usually doesn't know what He is talking about. He only knows the propaganda He heard from the pulpit. 

You ask have I spoken to a French person . Before I retired , the company I worked for had a plant in France , we imported robots , and other machinery from France . My boss spent time in France , we had many service techs come over from France . I have been retired for a few years , but not that many . NONE of these people EVER spoke of a Sharia law takeover ! 

I have been spending time on West Point Lake , I have met MANY people from Detroit who have moved here to work for KIA . 

I have asked about any problems with the Muslims in their home state . NONE know what I am talking about !!!! 

This confirms what I have read , there is no takeover , it is just more propaganda designed to raise the fear factor ! If Sharia Law runs against our common  law then the person will be dealt with by our courts , just like in France.  

You and your culture have a NEED to hate somebody . It seems to come from a religious need or perhaps a irrational desire to hate someone different from yourself , I don't know. 

I don't deny that the horror your video shows isn't true , but what is a small town columinist going to do about it ? NOTHING but cause harm to your neighbors !

Have you written to the Iranian Embassy in an another country to express your outrage ?

Perhaps Our Lord will forgive you because you are so misguided - Glenn Dean

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

This is your quote Glenn, and by the way thanks for the book.

"All you are doing doing is fanning the flames of hate in OUR country. You are making it more difficult on the Muslims who have come to our country seeking a better way of life ." 

http://www.marieclaire.com/world-reports/news/honor-killings-in-america

I saw several stories like this from fox news but I knew you would bash those, so I looked until found one from a liberal womens magazine.  Is this an example of that better way of life they are seeking. 

The difference is we became civilized in the last 200 years and they are still the same.  That is fine if they want to stay in thier own country, but when the come to America and start killing people and driving jetliners full of people into buildings in the name of Allah, then I start having a problem with it.

You are such a blind fool you missed the whole meaning of Ray's post - D J Elmore

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Just wished to thank D. J. Elmore for the article on honor killing in America!  To me the wonderful aspect of Christianity is that the teachings of Christ point us toward love and mercy!  The most dreadful aspect of Islam is that the teachings of Mohammad point his followers toward cruelty and murder of non-believers - Ray Hall

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Anyone who commits a "Honor Killing" in the USA , will go to prison or the Death Chamber .

It doesn't matter what race or religion you are . The same law applies in France and other countries .
 
Terrorist flew planes into buildings , just like Terrorist blew up the building in Tulsa OK , doesn't matter one was Christian and one was Muslim , they were cold blooded killers.
 
I asked if you have done anything constructive towards stopping the cruelty in Iran , you didn't answer . I take that as a NO .
Sending around hate mail to me and others doesn't do anything for the women in these countries.
If you were really interested in helping them and not just fanning the flames ,
you would do something like getting in touch with an embassy or the United Nations , etc.
Start a letter writing campaign to people that might can do something about it - Glenn Dean

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Hey Ray I've got a good idea!!

Let's start a letter writing campain to get Glenn sent to Tehran as the American Ambassador for Islam and then he can really learn all about the religion of love and peace, from the peaceful people of the Islamist Republic of Iran.

By the way Glenn, Prince of Fools, the people driving the jetliners were practicing Islam and carried out thier attacks in the name of Allah.  The OK City Bomber, Tim McVeigh, made the statement in prison that he was raised Catholic, but no longer considered himself a religious person.

There is a HUGE difference in the two, and the more you defend the attacks of 9/11 by comparing it to other attacks just makes you look really small and ignorant - D J Elmore

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

DJ You spend so much time trying to think up witty names for people who disagree with you, you don't have time to get your facts straight .

Timothy McVeigh did what He did to avenge what the Government did to David Koresh in Texas . 
Sounds to me like it was a Christian "Honor Killing"  to use Rays words .
 
As stated Ray , if you meant what you say about "Loving the Muslims" you would spend your time trying to help the women in these countries , instead of passing around hate mail that only hurt your Muslim neighbors .
But a letter writing campaign to the leaders of these countries , is a lot of work and not nearly as much fun as fanning the flames of hate right here at home - Glenn  Dean

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Dear Mr President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, benevolent peaceful leader;

If you could find time in your busy schedule of, building a thermo nuclear bomb to wipe Israel off the face of the earth as your religion demands, going to the local stoning every week to cheer on the rock chunkers, riding your camel over the border to deliver bombs and weapons to Iraq and Afganistan to kill American soldiers, would you please quit hurting women.  You know those second class people who only bear you sons, cause if by chance they bear a little girl the may be strangled to death like was reported in the news last week.

Can't we all be friends and be nice to little girls too??

Your friend and #1 fan,
Glenn Dean

P.S.  Could you also please please please please give President Obama's little spy drone back to him like he asked.
- D J Elmore

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

Hey Glenn,

If you can tear your self from your entertainment news sites for just a minute this will tell you what Iran is really interested in!!

http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2012/02/03/us-fears-irans-links-to-al-qaeda/


You might want to start another letter writing campain.

brahhhhhhh

Playing with fools is so much fun!!  :)
- D J Elmore

__________

The Cruelty of Islam to Women (1-17-12)

DJ ,,,,What you lack in Logic and Intelligence , You certainly make up for in wittiness ! - Glenn Dean


Coaching applicants (1-17-12)

I heard from a good source that the committee will interview 7 applicants for the head football coaching job?  Would be nice to know who they are!! - Johnny Johnson


Memo: Stack your leaves (1-17-12)

We compost. It might be a good idea. We ALL may be growing gardens at the rate things are going - Bobby Dennis

__________

Memo: Stack your leaves (1-17-12)

I had heard you had to bag them before they were picked up.  Is that not correct?  Will they still pick them up if you stack them up? - J Wiginton

__________

Memo: Stack your leaves (1-17-12)

Your right it is a NIGHTMARE when they put them as a border around there property, But if people would just put them in a BAG it would look a little better and not so hard to get up! ITS NOT THAT HARD! BUT ITS VERY HARD WHEN THESE GUYS HAVE TO PICK UP ALL THE WAY AROUND YOUR PROPERTY,AND NOT JUST ONE SPOT. these guys should only have to pull up to one pile and reach your trash/leaves, and not get up and down, off and on, back and forth, to pick up your stuff. if they will do that and put it on our R.O.W. BUT NOT IN THE STREET! WE COULD GET THEM UP ALOT EASIER. KEEP IN MIND THESE TRUCKS can only reach so far. One pile per property owner would be great! i say we need to pass something to keep this down to a low level job that shouldnt kill our workers.


Trash on side of the road (1-10-12)

I live on Gilmer Avenue. I get out every day and pick up thrash in my front yard. Trash and cigerette butts. People do not care. I lived on West Butler most of my life and it was a nice clean street. But now it is not. The road down the side of Wal-mart is awful. I hope some of these people get caught - Harriet


Walking Trail (1-10-12)

This is great News !
Tallassee needs more Quality of Life Improvements !

AND,,judging by the tonnage you see on the young and old of Tallassee
a walking trail is something Tallassee sorely needs ! - Glenn Dean

__________

Walking Trail (1-10-12)

Is this trail going to be taken better care of than our river walk that has burnt up thrash cans,boards knocked off and not replaced, tree limbs growing to cLose and never cut back. Or are we going to keep this place clean and UP TO DATE? It sounds like a wonderful idea! THAT'S IF WE CAN KEEP IT LOOKING IKE NEW SENSE WE ARE ALREADY TALKING ABOUT PUTTING OUR TAX PAYING $$$$$$$'s TOWARDS THIS. If you want to see how to take good care of something like this drive to wetumpka to the gold star park by the coosa river and you can see how its done! - Concerned Tax Payer


Garbage on the streets (1-10-12)

I was riding through some streets and back allies the other day and noticed that theres more trash on them than ADVANCED DESPOSAL HAS ON THERE PROPERTY!!! If the people would clean up there properties it would look alot better. When i say clean up the properties that means like for instance (front streets and back allies)in front or behind your house/property. Your yard is yours, But dont forget there is a R.O.W.(RIGHT OF WAY). The city guys can only do so much when there is only two guys doing that job. Take your leaves and put them in a BAG, and your household trash needs to go to the can that gets picked up once a week. The rest of you limbs and other misc. stuff is ok to put out there. thats why you pay a fee on your water/gas bill. and please put it all in ONE PILE and NOT THIRTY. and we NEED to leaves in a bag policy in order like NOW. those guys that pick up the trash and other stuff work there tails off during everyone of the holidays to make your place look better so lets help them and clean up in front of them!!!!!!


Christmas decorations (1-10-12)

It’s the second week of January and the Christmas decorations are still up and staying on 24 hours a day. I know for certain the city has other needs and expenses without having to pay this power bill. I bring this up because a visiting friend thought it was quite funny. I on the other hand found it embarrassing. My 3 year kids bring it to my attention that it is no longer Christmas. Please take them down! –Travis Jones, resident and taxpayer

__________

Christmas decorations (1-10-12)

In Western culture, we have largely forgotten that the Twelve Days of Christmas actually begin on Christmas Day, Jesus's birthday and the visitation by the Three Wise Men.  The Christian churches of the world recognize January 6, sometimes January 7 or 8, as the 12th day of Christmas.  The City of Tallassee keeping their decorations displayed through the Epiphany is perfectly acceptable.  Christmas doesn't begin and end on December 25; it is the Holy Day that begins the Christmas season (although I took down my decorations on New Year's Eve) - Michael Bird

__________

Christmas decorations (1-10-12)

When I was in college, I once had a final exam on the 22nd of December.  My parents came to Tuscaloosa to get me, and as we rode through the little towns we saw beautiful Christmas lights.  When we got to Tallassee, there were none up.  I'm not sure why they waited so long, although I remember as a child waiting until about the middle of December to put up a Christmas tree.  (I also remember that sometimes my mother would not take her live tree down until about January 20, and my parents had friends who would keep an artificial one up all year, turn on the air conditioner in July, light a fire, and turn on the Christmas lights). Mr. Bird has a valid point about Epiphany, which my mother called "Old Christmas" but I would like to point out that there is still separation of church and state.  Leaving city Christmas decorations up past a certain date seems rather strange to some people.  Personally, I thought they went up too soon this year.   Putting up city decorations during Thanksgiving seems appropriate, but as I recall, ours were put up earlier that that.  I actually had my studio ready by the first week of November but my business calls for that.  While we're on the subject of city spending, I recall that when Mayor McCain announced that the city would no longer pick up recycle bags, he also said "they" would study the issue and see if it could be re-instated.  I haven't heard anything else, and while citizens can drop off their recyclable items at the city's recycle center, it is hard for people who work to do so.  I really wish the city would re-instate the service; I think it is the responsible thing to do, even if it is not a money-maker.  I would like to know what others think about this - Suzannah Solomon Wilson

__________

Christmas decorations (1-10-12)

We worry so much about Christ being removed from Christmas , yet we ourselves are doing it !

The stores start putting up Christmas decorations , before they take down their Halloween decorations !
Their reason , of course , is to get the consumer to start the buying orgy !
But we the people don't have to put our decorations up when the stores do . We have the freedom to wait until the season begins with Advent and Christmas . Then keep the decorations up during the season . The tradition of gift giving came from
The visitation of the Wise men which happened after the birth. 
 
When home decorations go up in November and come down on Christmas day , or shortly thereafter , it suggests that the season isn't really about the birth of Christ but more about the gift exchange on Dec 25th - Glenn Dean

Big appetite in Big Easy (1-10-12)

Great article.  Georgia Ann is lucky to experience a championship game at such a young age. Rachel was 21 when she got to go see AU at the National Championship game last year.  So...  it goes like this - Rachel goes and mom stays home.  Oh well - you do what you have to do.  HA HA!   Wish Delmar could / would convince my daddy to splurge and take me on a "all expense paid" trip!  Maybe he can work on that for me during their Sunday School class.  :) - Ashley Golden Newman

__________

Big appetite in Big Easy (1-10-12)

Michael's comments about eating in New Orleans brought back fond memories of my my many travels to that city on business back in the 1970's. Entertained clients and prospects at a variety of restaurants, but Commanders Palace was my first choice each time. Whether we ate inside or outside and no matter what our choices were from there fabulous menu, we thoroughly enjoyed bite and each sip of or wine or other libation. Try it some time and see if you don't agree - Jim Burkart


Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

Segrest noticed damage to a screen on his window. "I just wanted them to go away," he added. "If I'd seen somebody standing there, I would've shot them."

He really said that.  I'm all about 2nd amendment rights and the right to defend yourself, but what if that had been an old man of a teenage girl standing there that had run out of gas and was looking for help.  You would now be in jail charged with I think a minimum of manslaughter, and if it was as reckless as you state in the article I think it should be murder.  The law states you have to be in fear or your life to use deadly force.  This is one of the most careless things I have ever heard of, I just can't wrap my mind around the fact that you would shoot someone standing on your deck or in your yard without at least finding out who it is or what they want - D J Elmore

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

DJ,people that run out of gas should go to the front door and knock or ring the doorbell for help.I guess your stating that the person on his back porch was innocent.SERIOUSLY?It was 2a.m.!You don't go to someone's back porch and pry at window seals and back doors with a screwdriver or whatever the crackhead was using.
Just go to the door emptyhanded only to get bumrushed by 3 or 4 drugaddicts,get beatdown,tied up and watch helplessly as they rape,beat and rob your family!There are breakins weekly around here!WAKE UP DJ!
I commend Mr Segrest for what he did.More folks need to adopt his approach to protecting his home and family.Waiting for someone to enter your home before you fire at them is absurd!
Only DOPEHEADS lurk around at 2a.m. in people's backyards!GO DIRTY - CHARLES BRONSON

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

Mr Bronson you also show no common sence,

I can think of many reasons that someone would be on his back deck that don't include, as you call them DOPEHEADS, here's two.

1) Elderly person with Alzermers wanders away from thier home one afternoon and gets lost. This person comes out of the woods and is in your back yard, this person is cold and scared and lost.  The only crime commited is getting old and sick.  You see them in your yard and you shoot them down like a rabid dog good going!!

2) Teenage kid is driving down the road at 10pm, and a deer runs right out in front of them.  The kid tries to miss the deer and winds up in the woods and hits a tree.  She wakes up confused , because she has a head injury, it is around 1:30 am and the car is dead and they have no flashlight and it is pitch black out.  This kid is lost and has no clue which way to go, so she wanders thru the woods and comes out in you back yard.  In a desperate search for help she comes up on your deck, bumps into some patio furniture because she's lost and confused and dizzy.  You hear all the racket and come running with your gun cause its just gotta be one of them DOPEHEADS, and you shoot her down like some mangy mutt.

I know these are hypothetical, but somewhere in this country they happen every day.  I just hope these people are lucky enough to wander in someone's yard like mine where there are motion dection flood lights and can be seen.
I have heard noises outside my house many times that I did not think were right, but I didn't just fire a blind shoot, I turned on porch and flood lights and went outside with my pistol in my hand and looked around.  Shooting blind is a good way to kill an innocent person, and you commending them for it just shows everyone how big a fool you are - D J Elmore

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

I think Mr. Elmore should give his address out so that anyone wanting to break in and steal or possibly do harm to his family will know where they can safely go and not be in harm's way. Mr. Elmore can be a victim all he wants, but other people will not tolerate people coming on their property in the middle of the night and attempting to steal or bring harm to them or their family. I do not fault anyone for protecting what is theirs. Some people choose NOT to be victims and I am one of them - Steve Segrest

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

I do not condone blind shooting as you refer to it Mr. Elmore, and I am not to sure anyone commenting on this article is either, but someone on your back porch at 0200 trying to pry open your window is far from being innocent.  Taking a shot at someone who you know beyond a doubt is trying to gain entrance into your house is not blind shooting either. Most people who are looking for help are not sneeking around your house or trying to gain entrance into it. They use common sense and either knock on the door or ring the doorbell. I am sure Mr. Segrest knew someone was trying to gain entrance or he would not have taken a shot. I work around inmates everyday and a majority of them state they would never break into a house if they knew the homeowner was armed and was not afraid to shoot. I have no desire to take the life of a person but will do so in order to protect my family - Josh Bridgman

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

Mr Elmore, I recommond you, or anyone else, announce your presence with a knock and a verbal explanation when visiting my home at 2am. Knocking on my front door, instead of the back door, would also be highly recommended, and a phone call is your best bet. Any forced entrance, or attempted forced entrance, will result in 000 buckshot being fired, in rapid succession, in your general direction. That is the equivalent of six .38 caliber rounds every time i pull the trigger and that is gonna sting a little - Light Sleeper, aka Rhett Dennis

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

First of all I am very far from being unprotected, I have a Mossberg 835 3 1/2 inch magnum shotgun in my bedroom closet within 1/2 second from my bed. I sleep with my normal carry gun, a Kimber 1911 cold combat .45, on my bedside table.  The Kimber is with me 99.9% of the time, loaded with Hornady Extreme Terminal Performance hollow points.  I have these guns and I WILL use them to protect my family and my property.  (My wife has her own pistol w/a laser and she is quite good with it.) I KNOW no one in my family is gonna be a victim without a good fight.

Ya'll are missing my point.  I would defend Mr Segrest 2nd amendment right with my life, I just think a motion sensored light would have probably solved the problem, because 99% of the time a prowler or burgular don't want to be in the light either.  And he could have seen the person, identified as friend or foe and then fired his weapon with a higher percent of hitting said target.

I'm just saying I would never personally shoot out into the dark or through a solid door without knowing what I was shooting at.  I have teenage children, and although I have never known them to be so devious, what if one of them snuck out and was trying to sneak back in and I sent all of those 000 buck throught the door and killed my own kid??

I'm just saying I think there are better more responsible options to dealing with "potential" intruders than were used.  My humble opinion.

I'll also end with saying I was not there and don't know all the details, just what I read - D J Elmore

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

I hear yea Rhett, that goes double for me. Just come on back and try to break-in my house again but next time please try it while I am there so that I can shut you down an put a stop to all these break-ins - Ryan M.

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

Mr. Elmore, you are correct you were not there.  You have gained knowledge of the incident through a very short article on the situation that in no way gives all of the details.  Before you jump to conclusions and act like Mr. Segrest was just shooting at random things on the back deck you should really learn all of the details.  Also, in your hypothetical situations, if someone is in their right mind enough to walk up on someones back deck, check the back door to see if it is unlocked, push on it a little and then check the windows to see if they are unlocked and push on those, then they are in their right mind enough to walk to the front door and push the doorbell.  I agree with you in the fact that you would need to use common sense in a situation so that you do not shoot your teenager trying to get back into the house after sneaking out.  In this situation, all family members were accounted for and no teenagers live in the house and therefore this person was not welcome in the house.  It is easy to say that motion lights would have solved this problem after the fact.  That doesn't help in that moment, when they don't have motion lights. 

And last, if you feel that he was careless when shooting out of his window because you should only "be in fear or your life to use deadly force" then I will gaurantee you that he was not only in fear of his life but in fear of his wife and 3 year old daughters lives as well.  I know this family and I know all of the details and in that exact situation I promise you and everyone else would have done the same thing.  It hurts my heart for you to judge a situation and post something like this without knowing the details.  Mr. Segrest and his family have read your comments and whether or not they care what you think it stings when someone judges you without knowing the entire situation.  Think about what you say and your actions and how they affect the victims.  That family is going through enough right now without needing comments like that from people like you.  Next time you make comments, why don\t you say something like, "Wow, I am glad everyone is ok and if there is a person out there trying to break into peoples homes I hope the police catches them so that they don't try to threaten my family."  My prayers go out to this family that they have a peace of mind and can feel comfortable in their own home again very soon.  My prayers are also for anyone who reads this article and doesn't have kind heart towards any victim of someone trying to break into their home. Mr. Elmore, I am sorry you feel the way that you do about Mr. Segrest and I hope that you and your family are never in the situation that they were put in - Tara R.

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

Tara, you are still missing my point, try a reading comprehension course sometime.

I'll put it a little different and type a little slower this time.

Lights are a HECK of a lot cheaper than guns and a whole lot safer, I agree with being prepared and protecting your family, and I pray that this family will always be safe, I just question the practice of shooting at something you cannot see.  On my very first post on this thread I was quoting what he said, "If I had seen him standing there, I would have shot him", that is what the story said.  So if that was not true, and he did not just fire a blind shot, then why did he not come on this post and explain that, instead of commenting that I need to give out my address so I could become a victim.  That in itself sounds kinda defensive - D J Elmore

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

ALL HAIL DJ ELMORE!!! THE VOICE OF ALL THAT IS CORRECT AND PROPER!!! What would you all do without him questioning your intelligence or opinions and statements on nearly every post that you make? Please DJ, if you could, oh Great One, send us all your email address so we can run our opinions by you before we post them in a public forum. Not really. You're a troll. Plain and simple. I'll bet you're the kind of guy that loves to hear himself talk...without ever really saying anything - B Waddle

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

B Waddle, my thoughts, exactly - B Wiggle

__________

Prowler causes fireworks (1-3-12)

WADDLE ON - D J Elmore


County Line (1-3-12)

Federal grants are good sources of revenue for towns and cities (and counties) to help to improve infrastructures and perform some upgrades.  However, please be aware that along with grant money comes directives on how and what to do with it. We then become increasingly indebted to the federal government and loose control of our own property - Jane Duke


Superintendent (1-3-12)

Was this job posted per State regulations?  Were there any applicants?  Why not interview others?  Seems as if the "Good Old Boys" are at it again.  Need to talk to the teachers and staff also for their input before anyone is hired - Concerned Parent

__________

Superintendent (1-3-12)

To concerned parent maybe you should attend board meetings then you might know what is going on in our school system. Also if you have that many concerns maybe you should have attended the interview for Dr. Varner.  The interview was open to the public.

__________

Superintendent (1-3-12)

Why not hire in house if possible?  I think Dr. Varner has done an OUTSTANDING job with SMS.  I think he's just what we need to get Tallassee City Schools cleaned up.  Good Luck, Dr. Varner - Tina Haggard


Break-ins (1-3-12)

YOU STEAL.....  I KILL......


From the Hill (1-3-12)

Great idea for honoring Venable and others! Placing them in alphabetical order would help people with their location sequence, as they do in Denver, Colorado - Ray Hall


Liberal Press (1-3-12)

I just read Glenn Dean’s opinion piece from the December Tallassee Times and couldn’t agree with him more. Too many wish to attach labels to any who disagree with them. I, like Dean and many others, bear nor have a label. He and I are INDEPENDENTS who analyze, review and then make up our own minds regarding issues, candidates and/or whatever. The fact he or I or others disagree with you is of no importance to us. We do not disparage you or your views. Glenn and I are among a group of those who believe that two or more people can disagree, but do not have to be disagreeable or disrespectful or label those with whom we happen to disagree. God gave each of us the gift of choice. The fact that your choice and mine are different does not mean you or I are better or more correct than each other in any way shape or form. Thank you Glenn for your comments that led me to write this opinion piece. Let us all go forth in peace and understanding - Jim Burkart


Interested in voicing your opinion on this page?

*We reserve the right to refusal for content on any submission

E-mail
or use the "Comment" link at the bottom of each article

Or you may write:

Tallassee Times
Attn: Opinion
P. O. Box 780146
Tallassee, AL 36078